South Carolina 2018 Election Update


2018 Election Update

With the 2018 primary elections right around the corner, campaign season is in full swing across the Palmetto State. Elections for various Republican and Democratic primary races will take place on June 12, 2018. All necessary runoffs will be held on June 26, 2018, and the general election will take place on November 6, 2018. Headlining this year’s primary elections are five Republicans and three Democrats who are vying to become South Carolina’s next governor. This is also the first year that the State’s governor and lieutenant governor will be running on a joint ticket. In addition to the highly competitive gubernatorial race, all 124 seats in the South Carolina House of Representatives are up for election this year, although not all seats are contested. For a detailed list of the candidates in the statewide and Congressional primary races, please see below.

Note: * indicates incumbent.


Democratic Primary
Phil Noble (Gloria Tinubu)
James Smith (Mandy Powers Norrell)
Marguerite Willis (John Scott)

Republican Primary
Henry McMaster* (Pamela Evette)
Kevin Bryant
J. Yancey McGill
Catherine Templeton (Walt Wilkins)
John Warren (Pat McKinney)


Republican Primary
Alan Wilson*
Todd Atwater
William Herlong 


Republican Primary
Mark Hammond*
Nelson Faerber
Joshua Putnam
Kerry Wood


District 4 – Pickens County (Republican Primary)
Davey Hiott*
Phillip Healy

District 5 – Pickens County (Republican Primary)
Neal Collins*
David Cox
Allan Quinn

District 6 – Anderson County (Republican Primary)
Brian White*
Ryan Cowsert
Rick Freemantle

District 7 – Abbeville & Anderson Counties (Republican Primary)
Jay West*
Dennis Ted Grindstaff

District 8 – Anderson County (Republican Primary)
Jonathon Hill*
Don Bowen

District 11 – Abbeville & Anderson Counties (Republican Primary)
Craig Gagnon*
Dale Phillips

District 15 – Berkeley & Charleston Counties (Republican Primary)
Samuel Rivers, Jr.*
Steven Smith

District 17 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Michael Burns*
Lee Vining

District 18 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Tommy Stringer*
Tony Gilliard

District 19 – Anderson County (Democratic Primary)
Carrie Counton
Hao Wu

District 20 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Bobby Davis
Adam Morgan

District 21 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Phyllis Henderson*
Bobby Cox

District 22 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Jason Elliott*
Brett Brocato
Samuel Harms

District 25 – Greenville County (Democratic Primary)
Leola Robinson-Simpson*
Jack Logan
Bruce Wilson

District 27 – Greenville County (Republican Primary)
Garry Smith*
Fred Wall
Ira Williams

District 32 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary)
O’Neal Mintz
Max Hyde

District 33 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary)
Edward “Eddie” Tallon*
Tommy Dimsdale

District 37 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary)
Steven Long*
Donna Hicks

District 38 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary)
Josiah Magnuson*
Joan Clyborne

District 41 – Chester, Fairfield & Richland Counties (Democratic Primary)
Mary Gail Douglas*
Annie McDaniel

District 42 – Laurens & Union Counties (Republican Primary)
Doug Gilliam
Phillip Russell
Brooks Carwile

District 43 – Chester & York Counties (Republican Primary)
Randy Ligon
Joe Tate

District 55 – Darlington, Dillon, Horry & Marlboro Counties (Democratic Primary)
Jackie Hayes*
Archie Scott
Jack Scott

District 62 – Darlington & Florence Counties (Democratic Primary)
Robert Williams*
Joe Ard
Linda Byrd-Spearman

District 64 – Clarendon & Sumter Counties (Democratic Primary)
Dr. Robert Ridgeway*
Mitch Ellerby

District 71 – Lexington & Richland Counties (Republican Primary)
Nathan Ballentine*
Todd Watlington
Britton Wolf

District 76 – Richland County (Democratic Primary)
Leon Howard*
T’Nae Parker

District 77 – Richland County (Democratic Primary)
Joe McEachern*
Kambrell Gavin
John McClenic
Deyaska Spencer

District 87 – Lexington County (Republican Primary)
Austin Bowers
Paula Rawl Calhoon
Todd Carnes

District 89 – Lexington County (Republican Primary)
Micah Caskey*
Billy Oswald

District 94 – Charleston & Dorchester Counties (Republican Primary)
Con Chellis
Evan Guthrie
Glenn Zingarino

District 95 – Orangeburg County (Democratic Primary)
Jerry Govan*
Gene Gartman, Jr.
Kevin Ray

District 96 – Lexington County (Republican Primary)
Kit Spires*
Perry Finch

District 97 – Colleton & Dorchester Counties (Republican Primary)
Don Johnson
Mandy Kimmons

District 98 – Dorchester County (Republican Primary)
Chris Murphy*
Larry Hargett

District 100 – Berkeley County (Republican Primary)
Sylleste Davis*
Tom Fernandez

District 101 – Clarendon & Williamsburg Counties (Democratic Primary)
Cezar McKnight*
Alfred Darby

District 103 – Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg Counties (Democratic Primary)
Carl Anderson*
John Henry
Dedric Bonds

District 104 – Horry County (Republican Primary)
Greg Duckworth*
William Bailey

District 110 – Charleston County (Republican Primary)
William Cogswell, Jr.*
Will Freeman
Russell Guerard

District 112 – Charleston County (Republican Primary)
Michael Sottile*
Jason Clouse

District 116 – Charleston & Colleton Counties (Republican Primary)
Charles Glover
Carroll O’Neal

District 117 – Berkeley & Charleston Counties (Republican Primary)
William “Bill” Crosby*
Jordan Scott Pace

District 122 – Beaufort, Hampton & Jasper Counties (Democratic Primary)
Bill Bowers*
Shedron Williams

District 123 – Beaufort County (Republican Primary)
Jeffery Bradley*
Paul Hartman  



Democratic Primary
Joe Cunningham
Toby Smith

Republican Primary
Mark Sanford*
Katie Arrington
Dimitri Cherny


Democratic Primary
Phil Black
Sean Carrigan
Annabelle Robertson


Democratic Primary
Hosea Cleveland
Mary Geren


Democratic Primary
Brandon Brown
Eric Graben
J.T. Davis
Will Morin
Doris Lee Turner

Republican Primary
Dan Albert
Barry Bell
Lee Bright
Stephen Brown
Mark Burns
James Epley
Dan Hamilton
Josh Kimbrell
John Marshall Mosser
Shannon Pierce
Justin David Sanders
Claude Schmid
William Timmons


Democratic Primary
Mark Ali
Steve Lough
Sidney Moore
Archie Parnell


Democratic Primary
Bruce Fischer
Bill Hopkins
Mal Hyman
Robert Williams

Republican Primary
Tom Rice*
Larry Hammond

The Nexsen Pruet State House Update is published as a service to our attorneys, clients, and friends. It is intended to be a high level overview of the weekly activity at the South Carolina State House and does not constitute legal advice regarding any specific situation.

Firm clients who wish to receive individualized legislative updates, bill monitoring, or lobbying services may discuss options with Bob Coble or Sally Rogers. Bob can be reached at 803-253-8211 or and Sally can be reached at 803-540-2172 or

About Maynard Nexsen

Maynard Nexsen is a full-service law firm with more than 550 attorneys in 24 offices from coast to coast across the United States. Maynard Nexsen formed in 2023 when two successful, client-centered firms combined to form a powerful national team. Maynard Nexsen’s list of clients spans a wide range of industry sectors and includes both public and private companies. 

Media Contact

Tina Emerson

Chief Marketing Officer 

Direct: 803.540.2105

Jump to Page